You’ll have one last chance to download your information from the service. After that, you’ll need to enter your password to confirm and hit Continue to finish closing your account.
If you do choose to stay on the platform, for the love of god, make sure your conversations with your chatbot aren’t public.
WhatsApp, another Meta joint, is one of the most widely used messaging apps on the planet. While the service has end-to-end encryption that makes it good for messaging, it is also become inundated with more social features like brand channels, festering disinformation, and Meta’s AI chatbot. (You can remove that chatbot right quick with this guide.)
If you’ve finally convinced all your friends to move to Signal and want to give up WhatsApp, here’s how to untangle yourself from the service.
In some regions, you may be able to access WhatsApp in your Meta Accounts Center along with everything else. (See above for that process.) But if you’re in the US or another location where WhatsApp doesn’t show up in the Accounts Center, you can kill your account right in the app.
Tap the menu that looks like three dots in the upper right corner of the app and then select Settings. Go into Account. At the bottom, tap Delete Account. You’ll have to enter your phone number and tap Delete Account again at the bottom. Poof, bye-bye WhatsApp.
Note that doing this will delete all your WhatsApp data and message history, and it will remove you from any groups and delete any channels you’ve created.
OK, we’re finally out of the Zuck zone.
If you want to get ahead of the flailing efforts by US congressmembers to someday, maybe ban the Chinese app from US phones, here’s how to get off TikTok.
Just open the app, click on your Profile section on the bottom right. From there, click the three lines at the top right, then Settings and Privacy, followed by Account. At the bottom there is Deactivate or delete account. A few onscreen messages will allow you to download your TikTok data and finally confirm your choice.
After deactivating or deleting an account, your profile won’t show up and people can’t see your videos. Some DMs may not delete entirely, and users have reported still being able to find accounts and videos through search services outside of TikTok.
Even though your account is now deactivated, your data is not fully deleted for 30 days, and logging in again might reactivate the account. If you really want to leave, delete the app from your phone and stay away for at least 30 days.
If you want to download your data before nuking your profile, go into your profile and tap the three-line hamburger menu. Go into Settings and privacy, then Account, then Download your data (it’s right above the delete option.) From there you can choose what you want and then hit Request Data. Once your data is ready, it will be available for you to download for four days, so snap it up quick.
Since Elon Musk bought Twitter, gutted its workforce, and renamed the site to X, users have made a grand exodus to other social sites. Despite the steep drop in user numbers, millions remain on the platform as it has become a gleeful stomping ground for Musk and his sexy and antisemetic AI bots. (Yes, really.)
If X no longer marks the spot, you can deactivate your account in a matter of clicks.